What’s in a name?

Posted on September 21, 2011

1


Have you ever heard a name it stuck with you? When my cousin was little my uncle used to call him Boliver. Boliver Shagnasty to be precise. Now don’t ask me why because I have no idea but I LOVE the name Boliver Shagnasty. As a matter of fact, when we first got our dog I wanted to name him this. My family vetoed my vote and we neded up with a Cairn Terrier named Theodore Houdini Scraggs Nerfball Sir Shitasalot. We call him Teddy–well most of us do, my DH used to call him Shitty.

When I write stories I usually already know the names. I love unique or even downright odd names–however even I draw the line at naming a child Apple, Orange or some other kind of fruit…

I think one of my favorite names is the one I am using in my current WIP . The heroine’s name is Phyledelpheia. She is called Phyl for short. The name came from the 1948 John Ford Classic Fort Apache. It starred John Wayne, Henry Fonda and playing Henry Fonda’s character’s daughter Phyladeplphia was a half-grown Shirley Temple.

In past novels I’ve used names like Remington, Brandy, Chase, Tabith and Simon to name a few.

What are some of your favorite names? Are there any you’ve loved more than others? What about ones you’ve loathed? Inquiring minds want to know so please share!

Huggles
Donica

