Cha-CHING!

Posted on June 8, 2011

0


I’m a firm believer in coupons. In this economy I think people who DON’T use coupons are oblivious to the money they could be saving.

Case in point. When my husband lost his job we were struggling BIG TIME. I mean he was unemployed for 19 months. That is hell. Fortunately we didn’t go hungry. My family raises beef so we weren’t lacking for meat.

I had to try and figure out how to feed three humans, a dog and a cat on 50 bucks a week. Believe me, it CAN be done! Not easily, but it CAN be done.

I learned the value of couponing. I refused to buy items I did NOT have a coupon for, opting for the store brands instead.

Then I was turned onto this show called Extreme Couponing. O.M.G. I WANT to be those women! They’re AMAZING! Going into the store to buy hundreds of dollars worth of merchandise and coming out with spending only 5, 10, 20 dollars. One woman bought nearly 900 in groceries for ONE FREAKING PENNY! I was humbled, and envious.

Then I learned that the local Target has an EXCELLENT coupon program. You use ONE manufacturer coupon + one Target coupon! I thought it had to be either/or but NO! You can USE BOTH! (Walgreens is the same way. One Walgreens Coupon one Manufacturer coupon, EXCELLENT!)

So today I decided to go out and visit our Target. They just added a grocery store and the big draw was a coupon for a FREE dozen eggs. Naturally I went–free is free..

I sat down with all my manufacturer coupons plus all my Target coupons and went in with a plan.

I purchased:
1 Large Ltr bottle of Listerine (with bonus travel size bottle)
1 Large tube Colgate total toothpaste (with bonus adult Flex Care toothbrush)
1 bottle Sally Hansons Strong as Nails clear coat
1 bottle Sally Hansons Nail Polish
2 boxes Quaker Granola Bars
1 dozen Large Grade A eggs

Doesn’t seem like much, right? The total before coupons was $17.02
I got a .05 deduction for a reusable shopping bag…2.00 off one bottle of Sally…1.50 off the second bottle…by the time the coupons were done I spent $6.26!

Then I had to run down the road to get toilet paper because I won’t pay the Target price for TP and had no coupons so that was 1.40.

So my total outing today cost me $7.66!!!!

Of course I arrived home to discover my car had smoke coming out from under the hood…my car is now inoperable for the time being but hey! At least I saved a bundle AND I got some pretty new polishes to play with! LOL

Tonight I will be glued to Extreme Couponing on TLC (8 pm Central Time) to see what new tips and tricks I can pick up!

I’m telling you folks coupons are the BEST thing since sliced bread!

Huggles
Donica

