Turkey’s not the only thing going under the knife

Posted on November 23, 2010

0


this holiday. My mother had total knee replacement surgery yesterday. The closer the day came, the worse she got with nerves causing her to nearly chicken out. But she prevailed and went through the surgery. The operation itself took about 45 minutes but she was in recovery for 4 hours. I haven’t seen her since the operation. I had driven my grandmother up to the hospital to sit with dad while the surgery proceeded but being that it is a 45 minute drive one way to the hospital –and with rush hour traffic we’re talking about 2.5 hour drive on the freeway, we left before she was moved to her room. Plus we know once somone comes out of anesthetic they aren’t really lucid enough to know they’ve got company.

Dad said mom’s doing real well and we all expect her home by tomorrow. She will be with us for Thanksgiving at least YAY!

Speaking of Thanksgiving, what are your plans? I’m cooking enough to feed an army. A 25 pound turkey, green bean cassarole, sweet potatoes, scalloped potatoes, pork and beans, pumpkin pie, pecan pie, amrbosia salad, corn, rolls and my homemade honey butter.

I’m tired already LOL. I’m going to try something new with the turkey. I’m going to melt a pound of butter, soak cheese cloth in melted butter then wrap the turkey in the cheesecloth and bake the bird overnight. By the time we eat at 2 it should be golden, moist and juicy delicious. I HOPE!

In other news NaNo is nearly over and I’m falling on my face. I haven’t been able to keep up with the flow liek I was before. I’m afriad I’m going to fail this year. That would suck but life keeps sticking it’s ugly head up in my business so…

Speaking of writing, I received the ARC for The Good, The Bad & The Undead today! WOOHOOO Almost time for this one’s release–I know the cover should be arriving anytime now and I can’t WAIT to see it! Man, I LOVe this little book! Matt is one of the coolest heroes I’ve written. This is my first time writing a historical and it has a paranormal twist to it that I am DYING for readers to check out and let know how they like it!

Well best get back to work on the ARC so I cna get the errata list into the publisher before Thanksgiving–one less thing on my plate.

See y’all soon!
Huggles
Donica

