16 Days of Halloween: They’re HUUGE!

Posted on October 20, 2010

0


Today I’m looking at my favorite horror flicks featuring animals that are HUGE and/or from another era. These movies all center on animals that are ginormous because they were exposed to radiation from nuclear bomb testing, or genetics, or from the dinosaur era and were accidentally stumbled upon and brought to the modern world.

I’m not putting them in any order as far as rank of favorite, just supplying you with my 10 all time faves!

1. King Kong—the original 1933 version starring Fay Wray, Robert Armstrong and Bruce Cabbot. I love this film but you know the only reason Fay Wray got the part was because she could scream. I mean the woman may have been a beauty in her time but she was NO ACTRESS.

2. Son of Kong, this is the sequel to King Kong. It’s actually a very good little story. It picks up the tale of the aftermath of the Kong destruction. It’s an excellent movie for its time and worth the hour and however many minutes to watch it. Interesting little bit of trivia, the Son of Kong actually had a name, Kiko, but it is never used in the film.

3. This movie was a bomb of all bombs. It was so…outlandish, so horrible that it just HAD to be watched. I love it for its flaws. This was also the first time I saw James Best as anything but Sheriff Roscoe P. Coltrane. The movie, the 1959 horror cult classic Attack of the Killer Shrews

4. Up to this point all my movies have been from the “golden age” of movies. This movie is on my favorite list because I am not a Joan Collins fan and watching her get…well you’ll see if you check out the 1977 movie Empire of the Ants:

5. A Ray Harryhausen hit for me was Beast from 20,000 Fathoms. It’s about atomic bomb testing in the arctic circle that wakes up a hibernating dinosaur:

6. Another Harryhausen flick I loved was It Came from Beneath the Sea about a giant octopus

7. You don’t have to be arachnophobic to get chills watching the 1955 creeping classic Tarantula

8. What list of giant atomic monsters would be complete without the original Japanese import Godzilla but this film’s original name was Gojira:

9. Attack of the Giant Gila Monster from 1959 was another one of those atomic tests age. It’s a B classic for certain!

10. This movie is one of my all time favorites. It’s a little cheesy, but it’s such fun to watch and it was scary the first time I saw it! From 1954 starring James Whitmore, James Arness, and Joan Weldon, THEM!

Tomorrow we’ll look at Zombies!

Huggles
Donica

