16 Days of Halloween day 2

Posted on October 16, 2010

0


Welcome to day 2 in the 16 Days of Halloween celebration!

Today I’ll be looking at the BEST films from the Universal Monsters line up.

Universal Monsters or Universal Horror is a name given to the lineup of films released from 1923 until 1960s. The first film was a 1923 version of Hunchback of Notre Dame. Some of the movies that made up this list were actually very surprising. The ones that didn’t make the list are even more surprising.

The horror films took prominence in the 30s, the golden age—when we met Bela Lugosi, Boris Karloff, Lon Chaney Jr, and Basil Rarthbone. Lon Chaney Jr was no surprise as his father Lon Chaney Sr was the original Phantom of the Opera in the silent film age.

There are 6 decades represented in the Universal Monsters world. This gives us a list of hundreds of films to choose from. An impossible task to be certain! So I think I’ll do this a little different than I did the Vincent Price ones. I’ll split this up into eras.

My favorite films from the 20s and 30s will be the first list. Tomorrow we’ll do the second half of the list with the 40s and 50s

Here are the movies that made my list:

1. Phantom of the Opera 1925

2. Dracula 1931

3. Frankenstein 1931

4. The Mummy 1932

5. The Old Dark House 1932

6. The Invisible Man 1933

7. The Raven 1935

8. Werewolf of London 1935

9. The Bride of Frankenstein 1935

10. Hunchback of Notre Dame 1939

Now you may be asking yourself how could I make up a list of the BEST films of the 20s and 30s and not have KING KONG, SON OF KONG or MIGHTY JOE YOUNG on the list. The answer is simple: These were NOT Universal monsters! As a matter of fact they were made by RKO pictures. YES I do LOVE these films but as I’m doing UNIVERSAL Monsters list today, I had to stick with the theme.

Tune in tomorrow for the rest of the list from the 40s, 50s and 60s!

Huggles
Donica

Posted in: blogging, Family, Fun