Working Friday and pix of the cake

Posted on April 16, 2010

0


My normal work schedule is usually Monday to Thursday but yesterday I went out playing around so I guess I’ll have to make up for my hookieday by working on my normal day off.

Yesterday I headed over to see my mom and my kids–Alyx and Sterling–Sterling is growing every single day. While I was there I shared a HUGE announcement–my daughter was nominated for a National Language Award which makes her eligible for a couple of scholarships.

I had just finished bragging on this when my dd called my cell phone to let me know she’d scored a 97% on her driver test!

So last night we had an impromptu party for her. I threw together a special cake and we went to my parents’ house to celebrate DD’s license.

Here is a picture or two of the cake: I didnt have a great deal of time to design it or I’d have done something a bit more elaborate–but it tasted pretty great!

DD's Driver's License Cake

The cake was a butter yellow and I added multicolored sprinkles to the mix. It made the cake look like it was rainbow. The frosting was creamy milk chocolate. The most important thing was DD liked it.

I was so proud of her I ran out and bought her a deep blue Prowler and her dream car a 2010 Dodge Challenger. They of course, did NOT make it on the cake as I held them to the side. It’s kind of a tradition in my family.

When I got my license my dream car was a purple Porsche 911. My parents gave me one–and it still sits on my dresser. My brother wanted a lamborgini (I’m sure I didnt spell THAT right!) so he got one for his 16th or 18th bday–I forget which. So I carried on the tradition with my DD, LOL.

Well I best take off. I’m supposed to be working today since I played yesterday. I’ll see y’all again next week! Have a fabulous Friday and a wonderful weekend!

Hugs
Donica

Posted in: blogging, Family, Fun, Personal