Alyx’s Fave!

Posted on January 8, 2010

1


Just thought I’d share this recipe with my readers. It’s my favorite one to make and I use any “occasion” as an excuse to whip it up. There is one variation that is reserved for our little Alyx’s birthday. She loves the Marbled variation I make but that has a special “secret” ingredient I WON’T be sharing…but here is the basic recipe.

Cheesecake Basic Recipe:

1 c graham cracker crumbs
3-tblsp sugar
3-tblsp butter

3-pkg cream cheese
¾ c sugar
1 tsp vanilla
3 eggs

Crust:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Mix crumbs, sugar and melted butter. Press into a spring form (cheesecake) pan.
Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.

Remove and cool. Bump heat up to 450 degrees.

Prepare filling:
Beat softened cream cheese, sugar and vanilla until mixed well. Then slowly add egg one at a time. (I use the whisk beater of my mixer)

Now at this point you can either pour it all into crust and bake OR melt 1 square of unsweetened chocolate with 1 Cup of the filling. (Here’s the step where my secret ingeredient is added but you can create a good marbled cake by just using unsweetened chocolate)

If using the chocolate option:
Drop in filling chocolate and plain alternately then drag a knife through to marble.

Bake your cheesecake at 450 degrees for 10 minutes then drop heat down to 250 and continue baking for 30 minutes.

To serve: Allow cake to cool, drag knife between cake and pan to loose then remove from pan.

I use the base recipe to make all sorts of different cheesecakes. I’ve made egg nog for Christmas, cherry, strawberry…the variations are limitless!

If you do try it, I hope you’ll pop back in and let me know how it turned out for you!

Hugz
Donica

Posted in: Family, Fun, Personal, Recipes