To Plot or Not

Posted on November 4, 2009

2


I’ve always been a seat of the pants kind of writer. I HATE structure of any kind and plotting is structure. Now some of my books do have a bit of plotting in them–what I mean to say is I did brainstorm and plan where they would go next.

One book I wrote I did NO plotting was Dragon’s Angel. While the situation was similar it isn’t the same. I’ll explain this a little later…

Tuesday I opened Hunting Mickey, fully intending to write it out but I couldn’t focus. It was driving me crazy to try and force it. So I decided it was time to just free write.

Sometimes when I feel blocked I open a blank file put my hands on the keys and let my mind roam. Usually after about 200 words of babbling I’m ready to get back into my current project.

Not this time. So far I’ve written 8100 words–since Tuesday–on a story that I have no idea where it came from, where it’s going or whats coming up. I let myself go, and without conscious thought, type. It’s almost as if I’m asleep, or dreaming, watching someone else sitting here typing. The room gets a little hazy on the fringes of my consciousness, I put my fingers on the keys and then let myself go.

It takes me several hours to get buried deep enough that it just flows on its own. Why? Because the logical side of my brain is having FITS! “You have to know whats coming next!” “Why are they doing that?” “They’re WHAT?!?!?!” Trying to force the story into a box. When I try to put that box around my story the flow instantly stops.

I can’t really tell you much about the story except that it involves mythical beings doing the job they were created to do. Is it a romance? I dont know. So far any romantic elements have been underlying.

I guess its time to get back to it. I’m anxious to see what happens next!

See y’all again soon!
Hugz
Donica

